My mom’s recipes

Posted on

When I started living with my boyfriend, I would call my mom and ask her to explain to me her recipes. I was a little nervous cooking something I’ve never cooked before by word of mouth but it all worked out in the end, my boyfriend loves my (mom’s) cooking. So here are some yummy recipes:

Garlic Salt Chicken

  • chicken (I usually pick up thighs because I’m a fatty but breasts could work for the health conscious)
  • 1 large egg per 2 pieces of chicken (for egg wash)
  • flour
  • garlic salt or spice of your choice

Oil a frying pan and turn on medium heat. Pat dry the chicken to get excess moisture out. Meanwhile, mix flour with garlic salt (or substitute spice). Coat chicken with flour – garlic salt mixture, then dip in egg wash, coat again with flour mixture. Cook in frying pan until juice run clear.

That recipe is super simple and quick. Chances are you’ve cooked something similar to it if you cook chicken at all.

Soy Sauce Chicken

  • 4 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp Japanese Mirin
  • chicken (again, I use thighs but you can you breasts or other cuts)

*You can find Mirin online or at any Asian grocery store. The link below is a description of what Japanese Mirin is.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirin

Turn on frying pan to medium heat. Once warm, simmer mirin with sugar and then add soy sauce. When it starts to boil and thicken, add the chicken and cook til juice run clear.

Tonkatsu

  • pork chops
  • flour
  • egg wash
  • panko/bread crumbs

Set heat to LOW heat, prepare a deep frying pan with 1in of vegetable oil. Blot pork chops to remove excess moisture. Coat with flour to create a base for the egg wash to stick to, dip in egg wash and cover completely with panko. Throw a few grains of panko into the oil to test the temperature; the oil is ready when the panko starts to fry and rises up to the top, careful for splattering oil, the temperature may be too hot. Carefully, place the cutlets into the pan and cook until bottom is lightly browned, flip and cook again until lightly browned.

This picture was found on http://norecipes.com/blog/tonkatsu-recipe/ another Tonkatsu recipe! Yum!

This dish is normally pair with the shredded cabbage and rice. The Tonkatsu sauce is usually found at Asian grocery stores, you can use it on fruit and veggies too, its a little sweet and salty.

Maybe someday I’ll be able to post my mom’s secret gyoza recipe but who knows, its a secret family recipe. I don’t even know how to make it, I just go over to her house to beg her for trays of ready to eat gyozas.

2 responses »

  1. Love this :) when I first moved out on my own I called my mom regularly to ask how to make a baked potato – well how long to bake it anyways. Moms always know best! Good luck getting that gyoza recipe!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My Me Time To Do List « budziak

What do you think?!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

